The NBN thread

User avatar
bender
Posts: 105
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 18:08

Re: The NBN thread

Post by bender » 12 Nov 2015, 17:21

Otto-matic Reiffel wrote:
jambo wrote:Sub and his insane HFC will download at 31 Megabytes a second.
As long as they don't put too many people on the same HFC connection...
Yeah, he did the speedtest at 4am. I want to see a screenshot in the 6-9pm time.
0 x
Asus P8P67|2600K @4.5GHz-EK WC|16GB DDR3|Crucial MX100 512GB|HD6970 2GB-Aquacomputer WC|MCP35X|Obsidian 800D|X-fi Titanium|AD900

Forgetful_Lion
Posts: 184
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 12:56
Location: Queensland

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Forgetful_Lion » 12 Nov 2015, 17:22

I wonder when living in an NBN area will start affecting property prices similar to living in a good school area etc...

Addendum: I should move to somewhere I can get NBN - all these speed test results make me feel sad and my ADSL2+ inadequate :cry:
0 x

Disruptor4
Posts: 863
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:55
Location: A place where there is 4 seasons in one day.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disruptor4 » 12 Nov 2015, 17:49

jambo wrote:When you look at these results you have to remember that for each 10 Megabits (Mb/s) you will get 1.25 Megabytes (MB/s) of actual download speed.

So all these people showing 95 Mbits will get around 11.8 MB/sec downloads


Sub and his insane HFC will download at 31 Megabytes a second.
Correct, so 1.5MB/sec is what you're getting in your speedtest, village idiot. I think you maybe misinterpreting your speeds with megabit and megabytes.
0 x
Image

User avatar
SuBw00FeR
Posts: 109
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 21:47
Location: Where you aren't.
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by SuBw00FeR » 12 Nov 2015, 18:41

Otto-matic Reiffel wrote:
jambo wrote:Sub and his insane HFC will download at 31 Megabytes a second.
As long as they don't put too many people on the same HFC connection...
They just increased capacity around my area, I get around that at peak times too now.

And yes I have downloaded at 30MB/sec from Steam ;)
bender wrote:Yeah, he did the speedtest at 4am. I want to see a screenshot in the 6-9pm time.
For the record, that time is at GMT Time, not mine, I'm never up at 4am lol.

Test just now at 6:42pm my time - while streaming twitch at source.

Image
0 x
Image
Main PC: i7 3770k @ 4.6ghz - 4x4GB Corsair RAM - SLI'd G1 Gaming GTX 980 - MSI Z77 MPOWER

Spawneh
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 21:47

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Spawneh » 12 Nov 2015, 18:51

This is my "premium" Internode adsl2

Image
0 x

Forgetful_Lion
Posts: 184
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 12:56
Location: Queensland

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Forgetful_Lion » 12 Nov 2015, 19:40

SuBw00FeR wrote:
Test just now at 6:42pm my time - while streaming twitch at source.

Image
Pretty sure that's a bannable offense :P

Here's my ADSL2+:

Image

In other news I learned that I can get FTTB via TPG. A very tempting option to churn to given the recent changes at Node.
0 x

n1cholas
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Nov 2015, 04:19

Re: The NBN thread

Post by n1cholas » 12 Nov 2015, 21:25

Alkarl wrote:I wish I had 1.8mb/s... barely get 200-300kb/s, maybe 900kb/s in the middle of the night...
All I know is that between 4pm and 11pm (if I'm lucky), no speed for me. *grumble grumble*

Yes, this is supposed to be an adsl2+ connection and no NBN until at least 2017 here. :evil:

Image
If you are with Optus you might want to consider switching ISPs.

Optus often don't buy/provision sufficient backhaul bandwidth and as a result often have extremely high contention ratios so during peak hours (3PM-12AM local time) connection throughput and/or latency often degrades. Others just have congestion and degraded throughput and latency around the clock.

Could also be exchange wide congestion but that you're with Optus makes this less likely as Optus AFAIK only sell services where they have their own DSLAMs (hardware at the exchange your modem connects to) and backhaul. Another provider Telstra at the very least likely has their own DSLAMs in your exchange.
Otto-matic Reiffel wrote:
jambo wrote:Sub and his insane HFC will download at 31 Megabytes a second.
As long as they don't put too many people on the same HFC connection...
Technically the node, unfortunately for HFC users once the NBN start moving people onto HFC downstream throughput will probably drop especially in peak hours.
Forgetful_Lion wrote:I wonder when living in an NBN area will start affecting property prices similar to living in a good school area etc...

Addendum: I should move to somewhere I can get NBN - all these speed test results make me feel sad and my ADSL2+ inadequate :cry:
My sister is a real estate agent in inner metro Perth and it's already happening. She says a lot of architects, engineers and other professionals are specifically asking about NBN availability before even considering premises so they can partly work from home and quickly upload plans/data back to the office.
0 x

User avatar
Otto-matic Reiffel
Posts: 597
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 23:23

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Otto-matic Reiffel » 13 Nov 2015, 14:28

This is my connection via the hated ones
Image

It's actually gotten better recently. Used to always pick a server in Sydney or Melbourne as that was the first peering stop for Adelaide. Guess they added a local PoP.
0 x

User avatar
ball0fire
Posts: 30
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 20:51

Re: The NBN thread

Post by ball0fire » 13 Nov 2015, 19:09

you guys know that you can change the measured speed in the settings / options tab up the top right of the page right ?
to show kilobits/ kilobytes/ megabits/ megabytes etc your time location, disatance in miles / km etc etc etc

anyhoo im pretty happy to have my adsl speed back up to where it should be (was suffereing from terrible congestion for so long)

Image

can go higher if im lucky i did get just shy of 2400 kilo bytes /s some time ago

which is aboot as high as ive ever seen anyones adsl speed
0 x

User avatar
jambo
Posts: 703
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 00:25
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by jambo » 13 Nov 2015, 23:31

Image

The ping is my favourite part of this screenshot
0 x

User avatar
acegiak
Posts: 80
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 12:54
Location: Aldinga
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by acegiak » 13 Nov 2015, 23:33

Image

Considering I'm paying for a 20/5 plan I'm pretty happy with that result.

EDIT: Oh wait, no it's a 25/5 plan. that makes more sense.
0 x
Image

User avatar
-Slayer-
Posts: 41
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 18:26
Location: Metabans - PBBans - Always Watching
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by -Slayer- » 14 Nov 2015, 18:15

SuBw00FeR wrote:Ya'll can keep your NBN

Image

HFC FTW :D
Hell yeah we got to stick together fellow HFC user on the same system.


HFC. W00T!

I'm also logged into the Battlefield games.on.net servers with my server tools and have multiple web-page tabs open as well, with 3 computers on (2 are mine) the internet in the house, and I'm not in a big city either.

6:09 PM Victorian time.

Image

3:22 AM Victorian time.

Image
0 x

mudslid3
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 17:58

Re: The NBN thread

Post by mudslid3 » 14 Nov 2015, 22:47

Image
this while streaming radio and probably my bro on his tablet

NBN ping is great

my adsl2+ was lucky to get 3Mb/s - 300kb/s through
0 x
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561197968767927]Image[/url]

User avatar
Angeredsoul
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 23:23
Location: Bowen

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Angeredsoul » 15 Nov 2015, 10:37

im within range of a fixed wireless tower for nbn, but because the map doesnt include my street, they absolutely refuse to let me connect to it despite the fact that my snr for the wireless signal is godlike. "Your street is penciled in for fibre installation at an as yet undetermined time" was the email response I received. Guess ive got to cop my blazing fast 6000kbit adsl2 connection...
0 x
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561197970985801]Image[/url]

User avatar
Nitephyre
Posts: 809
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:32
Location: ormeau@gc.qld.au

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Nitephyre » 15 Nov 2015, 10:46

NBN, what's that? /me sighs...

Image
0 x
Mugsy wrote:
09 Oct 2018, 21:26
I got nothing for ya... I was raised to not do things I wouldn't want done to myself. And that's why anal sex is off the agenda.

User avatar
jambo
Posts: 703
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 00:25
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by jambo » 16 Nov 2015, 01:35

Nice ping but
0 x

User avatar
Angeredsoul
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 23:23
Location: Bowen

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Angeredsoul » 19 Nov 2015, 17:17

this is probably the fastest its been for awhile, if we get a wet season in nth queensland, ill be joining the neanderthals of old with no interwebs

Image
0 x
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561197970985801]Image[/url]

kablekill
Posts: 502
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:23
Location: Not here.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by kablekill » 19 Nov 2015, 20:29

My NBN with TPG. 100/40 speed.......

Image
0 x

User avatar
Nacimota
Posts: 300
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 22:45
Location: Queensland
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Nacimota » 19 Nov 2015, 20:46

kablekill wrote:My NBN with TPG. 100/40 speed.......

Image
FTTH or FTTN? Edit: just noticed the up speed; must be FTTH. That sucks.
Last edited by Nacimota on 20 Nov 2015, 05:13, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
-Slayer-
Posts: 41
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 18:26
Location: Metabans - PBBans - Always Watching
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by -Slayer- » 19 Nov 2015, 21:15

kablekill wrote:My NBN with TPG. 100/40 speed.......

Image
Holy carp, mines HFC 275/47 do they have yours capped or something, 100/40 on NBN is very sad indeed, though your up speed is ok the down speed is bad I'd be complaining about it, you can get ADSL2+ that's faster in download.
0 x

Forgetful_Lion
Posts: 184
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 12:56
Location: Queensland

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Forgetful_Lion » 20 Nov 2015, 14:16

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/regio ... yallingup/
Yallingup people are up in arms over an NBN tower they say is an eyesore and will affect nearby businesses and homeowners question its positioning next to a “pristine valley”.
0 x

User avatar
Mythor
Posts: 1538
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:48
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mythor » 20 Nov 2015, 14:32

Image
Internode Naked ADSL2+ via an Optus port.

My NBN RFS date has moved up to December 2nd. I'm hoping I can be saved from copper hell before Christmas. Just got to find a new provider, maybe, since Internode seems a tad less appealing now. :(
0 x
"Me ate truck once." - Cookie Monster
Player Attack! - Diablo 3 Clan Details

User avatar
Tera
Posts: 22
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:49

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Tera » 20 Nov 2015, 15:21

Image

TPG 25 plan.
0 x

mudslid3
Posts: 24
Joined: 07 Nov 2015, 17:58

Re: The NBN thread

Post by mudslid3 » 20 Nov 2015, 18:27

kablekill wrote:My NBN with TPG. 100/40 speed.......

Image
holy shite` that's pathetic are you sure your not leaching while testing
0 x
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561197968767927]Image[/url]

Disruptor4
Posts: 863
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:55
Location: A place where there is 4 seasons in one day.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disruptor4 » 22 Nov 2015, 10:36

kablekill wrote:My NBN with TPG. 100/40 speed.......

Image
Is something downloading in the background? That's not right and I'd be complaining every day until it was fixed!

Here is my Internode ADSL2+... NBN construction scheduled to commence 1H 2017 which sucks since looking at the NBN map there are areas of FTTH around me :(
Image
0 x
Image

Post Reply