The NBN thread

User avatar
Mugsy
Posts: 7142
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 18:44
Location: Online or Offline

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mugsy » 27 Nov 2017, 14:14

There's a whirlpool thread about this. Also, nbn co has issued their media release.

https://www.nbnco.com.au/corporate-info ... ience.html

Edit: Cannot give two rats about a delay. I'm just hoping that there's a decent 12/1 plan around the $50 mark by the time I do get the nbn and it's reliable. Currently afsl2+ is treating me fine.
0 x
CherryRed wrote:
02 Dec 2018, 21:33
It'll look amazing shoved up his ass if he doesn't actually learn to play the fucking thing.
Image

User avatar
kharis
Posts: 3082
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 20:59
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by kharis » 27 Nov 2017, 15:03

i'm good with my optus cable anyway, but this whole thing just gets more ridiculous every day
0 x

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1853
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Sathias » 27 Nov 2017, 16:22

Sathias wrote:
27 Nov 2017, 11:02
My FTTN has been down since Friday morning, and even though I'm not a Telstra customer, the outage is listed on the Telstra Outages site. I have always chosen Internode so I can avoid as much Telstra equipment as possible, thanks Mal.
My net is back up! Apparently a NBNCo guy came to our house and did some physical testing of our line, lucky my brother was home.
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Mugsy
Posts: 7142
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 18:44
Location: Online or Offline

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mugsy » 04 Jan 2018, 11:37

Anyone here on Telecube and able to comment on their experience?

They seem to get a thumbs up on Whirlpool.
0 x
CherryRed wrote:
02 Dec 2018, 21:33
It'll look amazing shoved up his ass if he doesn't actually learn to play the fucking thing.
Image

User avatar
Disco
Posts: 4123
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:32
Location: NSW

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disco » 04 Jan 2018, 11:41

My brother in law finally got his FTTP installed and running, it took 9 months and about $7-8k to go from FTTN to FTTP .. the worst part is he was already at 60Mbps down with FTTN, and now he's at 99Mbps with FTTP.

I'm salty as, his pre spend NBN is still better than mine, but he doesn't even use it.. he doesn't torrent, or download, or game :lol: Lucky bastard, it cost him $7-8k to get what we should have all had as part of the NBN rollout.
0 x
Nekosan wrote:
29 Mar 2018, 00:36
Disco is fkn banned from the flamethrower. :lol:

User avatar
boars
Posts: 393
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 11:33
Location: Q. OO-su-to-ra-re-ah
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by boars » 04 Jan 2018, 21:55

I am struggling to comprehend why he spent 8k on something he doesn't seemingly need?

My brother has had FTTP for a ridiculously long time and he too doesn't do any of the aforementioned activities, in his instance though he didn't have a choice.
0 x

User avatar
Disco
Posts: 4123
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:32
Location: NSW

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disco » 04 Jan 2018, 22:01

boars wrote:
04 Jan 2018, 21:55
I am struggling to comprehend why he spent 8k on something he doesn't seemingly need?

My brother has had FTTP for a ridiculously long time and he too doesn't do any of the aforementioned activities, in his instance though he didn't have a choice.
More money than sense..
0 x
Nekosan wrote:
29 Mar 2018, 00:36
Disco is fkn banned from the flamethrower. :lol:

PALADiN
Posts: 187
Joined: 20 Dec 2015, 18:21
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by PALADiN » 04 Jan 2018, 22:04

Either that or getting ahead of the inevitable cost increases that will occur when it has to be redone.

Sent from my Nexus 5X

0 x
XBL/PSN/Origin/Uplay: PalZer0
Steam: http://www.steamcommunity.com/id/PALADiN
Twitter: @PalZer0

User avatar
Disco
Posts: 4123
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:32
Location: NSW

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disco » 05 Jan 2018, 13:23

PALADiN wrote:
04 Jan 2018, 22:04
Either that or getting ahead of the inevitable cost increases that will occur when it has to be redone.

Sent from my Nexus 5X
Haha the taxes will just go up and he'll be double dipped - in all seriousness when he got the process started he was running an at home IT business with servers, and now he's not.
0 x
Nekosan wrote:
29 Mar 2018, 00:36
Disco is fkn banned from the flamethrower. :lol:

User avatar
Mugsy
Posts: 7142
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 18:44
Location: Online or Offline

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mugsy » 05 Jan 2018, 14:02

Brothers NBN is going to shits and the problem seems to be on the ISPs end again. He feels like changing ISPs so I've suggested he look at this...

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-r ... ?t=2675951
0 x
CherryRed wrote:
02 Dec 2018, 21:33
It'll look amazing shoved up his ass if he doesn't actually learn to play the fucking thing.
Image

Disruptor4
Posts: 863
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:55
Location: A place where there is 4 seasons in one day.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disruptor4 » 09 Jan 2018, 10:40

Why it costs $7-8k is beyond me. It's an absolute rort to push people not to go ahead with it at this stage. I also wouldn't have bothered if I was getting 60mbps on FTTN, but that's just me and like you said, more money than sense I guess and he had a use for it when he initially started the process.
0 x
Image

User avatar
Makena
Posts: 1222
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 20:44

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Makena » 09 Jan 2018, 11:29

I have a connection date! Next Wednesday, only FTTN but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I'm not expecting crazy good speeds, but baring congestion issues, if it's slower than my ADSL2 something has gone very wrong.
0 x

Disruptor4
Posts: 863
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:55
Location: A place where there is 4 seasons in one day.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disruptor4 » 09 Jan 2018, 11:31

Gonna do before and after speed tests of in home re-cabling?
0 x
Image

User avatar
Mini
Posts: 2942
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:31
Location: Bendigo
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mini » 09 Jan 2018, 11:34

Hmm, thanks Internode
Might be time to churn to someone else...
Have noticed some odd high ping at time (Sits at 150ms when going through speedtest) and this is usually at that 8.30pm to 10.30pm time

Image
0 x
Proudly supporting Player Attack through Patreon

Battle.Net - MiniSanders#1895
uPlay - mini15michael
Steam - RtD>MiniSanders
Origin - MiniSanders
Player Attack Discord

User avatar
Makena
Posts: 1222
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 20:44

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Makena » 09 Jan 2018, 11:35

Disruptor4 wrote:
09 Jan 2018, 11:31
Gonna do before and after speed tests of in home re-cabling?
I don't plan to touch my in home cabling at this point, I only just (2 months ago maybe) ran a new line from my boundary point to a new socket.

if my speeds aren't around what I guestimate I'll probably try and borrow a broadcom based modem off someone first, and then if that's still poor consider doing my wiring, but without making it a way shorter line in my house and putting the modem where it really doesn't suit, there's not a lot I can do for that.

Mostly at the first sign of congestion with Internode i'm moving to Aussie Broadband or something
0 x

User avatar
boars
Posts: 393
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 11:33
Location: Q. OO-su-to-ra-re-ah
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by boars » 09 Jan 2018, 11:54

i noticed the plan I'm on is now 50, as opposed to the 25 I signed up for, with a nightly minimum of 26 instead of 13. I did a speed test at 11pm and got 12.

hmph.

Wonder if I have to call up to get transitioned across or if I'm just stuck paying for 25.

edit: on Telstra for context
Last edited by boars on 09 Jan 2018, 12:17, edited 2 times in total.
0 x

User avatar
Mugsy
Posts: 7142
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 18:44
Location: Online or Offline

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mugsy » 09 Jan 2018, 12:03

Mini wrote:
09 Jan 2018, 11:34
Hmm, thanks Internode
Might be time to churn to someone else...
I've read good things about these plans and Telecube as well...

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-r ... ?t=2675951
0 x
CherryRed wrote:
02 Dec 2018, 21:33
It'll look amazing shoved up his ass if he doesn't actually learn to play the fucking thing.
Image

User avatar
jambo
Posts: 703
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 00:25
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by jambo » 09 Jan 2018, 13:57

I've been pretty happy with my Optus NBN, especially after jumping from 50/20 to 100/40 and the congestion issues almost entirely disappearing.

Still, our contract is up in 6 months and it never hurts to have a look around.

Currently on Unlimited 100/40 at $80 a month thanks to 2 mobile plans on the same account. Much competition around that price point?
0 x

User avatar
Treloar
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Nov 2015, 09:57
Location: Australia

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Treloar » 09 Jan 2018, 17:42

Let's say when NBN get to me, if I switch to it from ADSL that has both my home phone bundled with my Internet. Is NBN Internet only or is phone bundled into it still or is phone a separate voip :?:
0 x

User avatar
stingtwo
Posts: 100
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:47

Re: The NBN thread

Post by stingtwo » 09 Jan 2018, 18:24

Most NBN providers give you the voip for free these days, you'll have to check the ISP website if they do/don't.
0 x

User avatar
kharis
Posts: 3082
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 20:59
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by kharis » 09 Jan 2018, 18:38

I’m in the hfc bucket. I’ll get nbn one day. Happy with my 30/2 cable for now. Can up it too 100 but meh it’s all good
0 x

User avatar
Mugsy
Posts: 7142
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 18:44
Location: Online or Offline

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Mugsy » 09 Jan 2018, 22:16

kharis wrote:
09 Jan 2018, 18:38
I’m in the hfc bucket. I’ll get nbn one day. Happy with my 30/2 cable for now. Can up it too 100 but meh it’s all good
Likewise, I'm slated for HFC (last time I checked).

My address has telstra cable available but I'd be paying $30 more per month for no drop in data quota compared to my naked DSL plan. And it'll be another $20 more on top of that for the speed boost to 30Mbps. This doubles my monthly internet costs. In a household of one, it just doesn't make sense for me to jump ship from my $50 naked DSL connection.
0 x
CherryRed wrote:
02 Dec 2018, 21:33
It'll look amazing shoved up his ass if he doesn't actually learn to play the fucking thing.
Image

Disruptor4
Posts: 863
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:55
Location: A place where there is 4 seasons in one day.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disruptor4 » 10 Jan 2018, 14:08

kharis wrote:
09 Jan 2018, 18:38
I’m in the hfc bucket. I’ll get nbn one day. Happy with my 30/2 cable for now. Can up it too 100 but meh it’s all good
Check again. I just checked yesterday afternoon only to find out that NBN and finder's websites have been updated from me being HFC July this year (before change to unknown 6-9 month delay check in feb) to now being 2H 2019 and FTTN.
Needless to say, I am pissed as the copper in my area is shit and when the weather is slightly miserable, it goes to the shit. Not to mention I'm now a further 2 years away from getting something better than 500-600KB/s...
0 x
Image

User avatar
boars
Posts: 393
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 11:33
Location: Q. OO-su-to-ra-re-ah
Contact:

Re: The NBN thread

Post by boars » 10 Jan 2018, 14:40

at least with fttn you have a pathway to get fftp. Doesn't exist with HFC.

seems the only way to get the discounts nbn gave service providers in December last year is for me to recontract... in December this year. joy.
0 x

Disruptor4
Posts: 863
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 10:55
Location: A place where there is 4 seasons in one day.

Re: The NBN thread

Post by Disruptor4 » 10 Jan 2018, 15:06

True about the upgrade path, but I won't be paying those ridiculous prices to switch. My only hope is that it's just a place holder and they'll do FTTC instead!
Don't you effectively get like 3 years of free internet due to the compensation anyway?
0 x
Image

Post Reply